My Club Crest

CAHIR PARK GOLF CLUB

Image
  • 2018-04-26
  • 2018-04-27
  • 2018-04-28
  • 2018-04-29
Loading the Calendar...

Booking

  • Club History

    bigpicCahir Park Golf Club is part of what was the Kilcommon Demesne. Land for a new 9 hole golf course was purchased from the Charteris Estate in 1968. Colonel Richard Butler Charteris was the last member of the family who owned the land.

    The death in 1961 of the Colonel saw the end of a 600 year association between the Butlers and Cahir. A keen sportsman, he was patron of both the soccer and cricket clubs in Cahir, chairman of the Turf Club and host of annual shoots for the gentry. Cahir has several national monuments, Cahir Castle, Cahir Abbey and The Swiss Cottage, and also boasts a unique cluster of architectural gems designed by the renowned Regency architect John Nash: Swiss Cottage (1805); St Pauls Church (1817); Erasmus Smith Schoolhouse (1818) and the remnants of Shanbally Castle
    (1812). Nash is better known for Regency St London. Buckingham Palace and the Brighton Pavillion.

    Cahir Castle and the Swiss Cottage are linked to the Butler Charteris family.
    Golf was first played in Cahir at an a uphill 9 hole course at Ballydrehid in 1902 and was one of the earliest clubs registered with the Golfing Union of Ireland (see list of members 1945 below – attachment 2). When the Cahir Estate was broken up in the 1960s, 60 acres were acquired for the first 9 holes of the current course by Jim Burke and Tom Shanahan (1968). The second tract of 48 acres was bought during the captaincy of Paddy Walsh in 1993, the additional 9 holes were officially opened on the 10th August 1995.

  • “THE COLONEL”

    bigpicCahir Park Golf Club is part of what was the Kilcommon Demesne. Land for a new 9 hole golf course was purchased from the Charteris Estate in 1968. Colonel Richard Butler Charteris was the last member of the family who owned the land.

    The death in 1961 of the Colonel saw the end of a 600 year association between the Butlers and Cahir. A keen sportsman, he was patron of both the soccer and cricket clubs in Cahir, chairman of the Turf Club and host of annual shoots for the gentry. Cahir has several national monuments, Cahir Castle, Cahir Abbey and The Swiss Cottage, and also boasts a unique cluster of architectural gems designed by the renowned Regency architect John Nash: Swiss Cottage (1805); St Pauls Church (1817); Erasmus Smith Schoolhouse (1818) and the remnants of Shanbally Castle (1812). Nash is better known for Regency St London. Buckingham Palace and the Brighton Pavillion. Cahir Castle and the Swiss Cottage are linked to the Butler Charteris family. Golf was first played in Cahir at an a uphill 9 hole course at Ballydrehid in 1902 and was one of the earliest clubs registered with the Golfing Union of Ireland

    When the Cahir Estate was broken up in the 1960s, 60 acres were acquired for the first 9 holes of the current course by Jim Burke and Tom Shanahan

  • To download the Orgin of the club booklet please click on the text